Semana 24

July 3, 2017 1:12 pm Comas Lima Peru

Semana 24

Family y amigos!  I love you so much!!!!

This week we had multi-zone conference with President Godfrey!  We learned how to teach specifically to help people recognize, identify, and search for answers from God through the Holy Ghost.

We pray to Heavenly Father in the name of Jesus Christ to receive a witness that the Book of Mormon is true and Heavenly Father sends the Holy Ghost to give us a confirmation – he testifies to our minds and our hearts (o sea sentimientos y pensamientos).

This is normally how God and revelation work; it is so simple and miraculous to know that this “process” works for any wisdom that we lack (James 1:5), not just to know that the Book of Mormon is true.  Recently, I prayed to know how I can contact more people, because it is a little scary for me.  Immediately after my prayer, I read Ether 12:2

  1. And Ether was a prophet of the Lord; wherefore Ether came forth in the days of Coriantumr, and began to prophesy unto the people, for he could not be restrained because of the Spirit of the Lord which was in him.

The Lord taught me through this verse and the Spirit touching my mind that I just need to focus on ALWAYS feeling the Spirit, always having his companionship, because then, I won´t be able to not talk to people about the gospel.  I was filled with gratitude for the love that God has for me, in answering a simple prayer that really mattered to me.

In Moroni 10:3-5, we learn that we must pray (I really like the Spanish word “rogar”) with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ.

With real intent means that we will act/ change something as a result of the answer we receive.

I just realized that I never finished telling you about la conferencia de zona (Zone Conference).  We got to be in the group with Presidente Godfrey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  We taught a woman named Norma with her two little kids that were either asleep, or very quiet (let´s talk about a miracle right there, a 6 year old and a baby sitting still without talking for 2 hours).  We were 3 pairs of missionaries hermanas capacitadoras (sister missionary companionships) and presidente.  While all in the same room, we took turns teaching (I and Hermana Parqui taught lesson 1 about the restoration of the church through the prophet Joseph Smith) then Norma and her children went into another room to have time to read the Book of Mormon and pray, then came back to learn about the plan of salvation and the doctrine of Christ. After each lesson, president talked with us about what we did well and how we can change.  Surprisingly, I was not nervous really to have Presidente Godfrey watching me, only that I could teach clearly and understand the needs of Norma, because she is so special to me.  We got to see her feel the Spirit, decide to change, and start repenting right in front of us.  She said that she wanted to be baptized at the end of this month.  I know that this work is the most important in the world and that the Holy Ghost is the true teacher, testifier of truth.

One of our recent converts presented us to his cousin (18 yrs) who claims to be agnostic.  It was really special to me that he had a million questions that he wanted us to answer until we taught him how God will respond to his personal prayers and that God would actually communicate with him.  Although very opposed to the idea at the beginning, he offered a prayer for the first time since he was 7 yrs old and I could feel the Spirit testifying that God does exist and has a plan for me and for him.  In the lesson, I had shared about Shay and some of the health things he struggled with like seizures and how I need to know that there is a God and that he is watching over my brother to feel any ounce of peace and joy.  Jonpierre prayed that God would heal Shay, saying that he wouldn’t like to have that trial.  That touched my heart and helped to feel even more the power of the Spirit and that God is real and knows each of the people that I get to teach.

Oh, and cambios (transfers) are tomorrow and I´ve been here for 3 cambios (normalmente 2 o 3 cambios en un area – normally you spend 2-3 transfer periods in an area), so I´m probably leaving.  Too where you might ask? I will find out tonight late and pack everything before the next morning at 10 am, when I have to be in the mission office.  But, Sofia (hija de Miriam and Randhi) and Mayumi are getting baptized this week (Saturday at 6 pm), so I hope that I don´t have cambios.  😦 mixed feelings

Sofia (her name means sabiduria (wisdom) and she definitely lives up to it – she is an old soul, very thoughtful, not impulsive) cuando preguntamos como se siente en la iglesia? estoy reanimandome.  Sabe quien es Benjamin? (ella esta en pagina 59 del libro de mormon con dibujitos) Si!  el tercer rey! (nosotros: look at each other, ¿que?) (When we ask her how she feels in church? I am revived.  Do you know who Benjamin is? (she is on page 59 of the Book of Mormon with pictures)  Yes!  The third king! (Us: look at each other…What?) She showed us how in the book there were two other kings before him, he is the third king!

Mayumi astonishes us with her understanding, we found out that when she reads the Book of Mormon (normal version – not for children), she understands almost perfectly.  And reacts as she reads – she was reading about the Holy Ghost and smiled when it said joy.

Know that I love you.

Compromiso (Commitment): Will you do one more thing that invites the Spirit into your life today?

Hermana Baldridge

Leave a Reply

