Semana 21

June 12, 2017 1:32 pm Comas Lima Peru

Semana 21

I had a fever the night of Ara and Tonny’s baptism (here this sickness is called la gripe and almost everyone gets it in invierno (winter) because the humidity is like you’re breathing water so you get cold without realizing it and it’s hard to breath clean air)…thus the silly bundled-up pics, but I got a priesthood blessing and now I’m healing! J​

Q: How are things going with your new companion?

A: Hermana Parqui is so sweet and I am grateful for her constant positivity, even at the end of a not seemingly successful day.  I am grateful for her hugs and eternal perspective, and being 100% present with every person.

Q: What is your favorite Peruvian food?  Something you’d never had before?

A: Aji de gallina (it’s like chicken topping over rice). Lucuma is a fruit that only grows here (I think), and cow heart (se llama anticuchos).

Q: Have you had papa a la huancaina or ceviche?

A: Papa la huancaina is sooooo goooood. And we’re not allowed to eat ceviche como misioneros (as missionaries), so no, but I’ve heard that it is ricisimo (really super tasty).

Q: What’s the happiest thing that happened to you this week?

A: I got to share a sincere testimony with a family menos activa – the wife is active but the rest no – and I felt the spirit so strong when we shared this (see below John 6) and I said that if Christ asked that to me (vs. 67) I would say “No Lord. No”.  We are in the step of perseverar hasta el fin (enduring/persevering to the end) and it’s a long one, but I’m here to stay, How about you?

“Who’s on the Lord’s side who? NOW is the time to show.”

66 Desde entonces, muchos de sus discípulos volvieron atrás y ya no andaban con él.

67 Dijo entonces Jesús a los doce: ¿También vosotros queréis iros?

68 Y le respondió Simón Pedro: Señor, ¿a quién iremos? Tú tienes palabras de vida eterna.

69 Y nosotros hemos creído y sabemos que tú eres el Cristo, el Hijo del Dios viviente.

  1. From that time many of his disciples went back, and walked no more with him.
  2. Then said Jesus unto the twelve, Will ye also go away?
  3. Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? Thou hast the words of eternal life.
  4. And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.

 

Q: How is the language coming?

A:  Good. I can understand most of what people say and express myself pretty well, there are still times that it goes right over my head.  But it’s a process and the Lord is definitely helping me.  This week I learned the verbs enterar (to inform/notify)and recaudar (to collect).

Q: Do you ever get to go to the temple?

A:  I’ve been so lucky to go twice.

Q: What’s your daily schedule like?

A: We wake up at 7:30, exercise, shower, eat breakfast, study, plan, eat lunch with members, study, contact-teach-work-find-serve-love….., go back to the house by 10, or 10:30pm if we are in a lesson, and go to bed at 11:30

Leave a Reply

