Semana 15

May 1, 2017  1:42 pm Comas Lima Peru

Semana 15

Miriam and Randhi got baptized!

About our investigators: Julio Cesar didn’t attend church, he was visiting his mom.  So, he will most likely be baptized the following week (13 de mayo).  Marco didn’t attend either, because his wife left on a trip and he had to care for his children (still on for 13 de mayo).  We have to call and get permission from Presidente Godfrey before baptizing youth now.  So we called about Ara and Mayumi.  Mayumi will be baptized 27 de mayo (Presidente said that she needs to attend church more before baptism) and Ara needs 2 months of church asistence (attendance) or that her father also is baptized.  This was kind of  “downer news” this week, because we want them to enjoy the blessings of being baptized, but I’m grateful for the vision of Presidente.  It’s true that for Ara, it would be really difficult to be the only member in her family to attend alone every week.  We want to baptize converts, o sea, people with strong testimonies and dedication to God so that they can stay firm in the church their whole lives and raise their own families in the church as well.  The Gospel is for families.  We learn in our families how to put into practice the principles of the gospel.  (How to repent and forgive, trust in the Lord, serve others, have patience and always look outward to help others and act like Christ….)

But the great news is that Ara’s father and little brother and sister attended church this Sunday!  We’ll see what happens with them.  I’m very grateful that they came!

P.S. I’m wearing a sweater.  What the what?  I’ve been feeling a lot like I’m at Grandma Wood’s house with the smell of fish (from the beach), few drops of rain, and overcast sky.  We love this clima!

Last night I was feeling tired and lacking faith.  As we approached the house of our new investigators, I said a prayer, expressed what I was feeling, and asked for help to have the Spirit with me.  We taught the Plan of Salvation and I got to teach about the Atonement and invite them to be baptized.  I don’t remember what I said, but I know that it was by the Spirit and that it was sincere, from my heart.  This is exactly what I pray for every day and I know that it helped the family to feel the Spirit and the love of Christ for them.  I talked with Miriam and Randhi after their baptism, especially on Sunday in their home.  They are both noticeably happier and have a fresh Spirit and positivity about them.  I know that God is happy with their choices and is blessing them.  The faith of the people here is astonishing to me, coming from a place very different in that regard.  I am amazed with the many times that investigators in the 1st and 2nd lessons bear their testimonies to us, after hearing these truths for the first time.  The Lord is preparing people and blessing us with the spiritual gifts we need to teach them.

Keep smiling my beautiful family!  Last verse of Mosiah 5

“Therefore, I would that ye should be steadfast and immovable, always abounding in good works, that Christ, the Lord God Omnipotent, may seal you his, that you may be brought to heaven, that ye may have everlasting salvation and eternal life, through the wisdom, and power, and justice, and mercy of him who created all things, in heaven and in earth, who is God above all.  Amen.”

Leave a Reply

