Semana 13

April 17, 2017  1:02 pm Comas Lima Peru

Dear Family!

I love you.  Thank you for the Easter messages!  It is my favorite holiday.  I know that Jesus died that we might live again.  I love the scripture “He is not here for he is risen”.  He lived a perfect life, suffering temptations, weaknesses and sickness the same as us.  The difference is that he never yielded to temptation, and was always completely obedient to his Father.  His, the most precious of all the blood there has ever been, was spilt willingly out of love for His Father and for you and for me.  He has felt every loneliness, sadness, anger, sickness, weakness, frustration, disappointment, and pain that I have felt and will feel in my life.  Because of that, I know I’m never alone.  I love this quote from Elder Holland:

“Brothers and sisters, one of the great consolations of this Easter season is that because Jesus walked such a long, lonely path utterly alone, we do not have to do so. His solitary journey brought great company for our little version of that path—the merciful care of our Father in Heaven, the unfailing companionship of this Beloved Son, the consummate gift of the Holy Ghost, angels in heaven, family members on both sides of the veil, prophets and apostles, teachers, leaders, friends. All of these and more have been given as companions for our mortal journey because of the Atonement of Jesus Christ and the Restoration of His gospel. Trumpeted from the summit of Calvary is the truth that we will never be left alone nor unaided, even if sometimes we may feel that we are. Truly the Redeemer of us all said: “I will not leave you comfortless: [My Father and] I will come to you [and abide with you].”

We had transfers!  Wow, I was not expecting that.  Hermana Meza left to San Juan de Lurigancho in Canto Grande, Santa Fe ward as a sister training leader!  Wow!  My new companion came from there so she was a sister training leader just last week!  What a great gift to learn from a really experienced Hermana Capacitadora!  Her name is Hermana Salguero, from Tucuman Argentina and she will finish her mission on May 23 (the same day as Hermana Meza).  I’m grateful that she has so much energy to work hard even though she is finishing her mission soon.  We have seen many miracles this week, mostly in finding many nuevos.  We found some by contacting and some by referencias de los miembros.  Now the challenge for us is teaching 15-20 minute lessons with clarity and sincerity.  We have citas fijados for every 30 minutes, like President Godfrey has asked, and it makes me anxious because I don’t want to abandon anyone, if we run out of time.  This is what we are praying for right now.  I need to learn to express the doctrine faster and simpler and with love and sincerity so that the Spirit can testify.  One family we found by contacting (Wendy, Eduardo, Eduardito age 4) let us teach them in their home right away and were very open to the things we taught.  One day, we had an appointment with Presidente Flores (counselor of the stake presidency), planning to get to know him and his family more and ask for referencias.  About 2 hours before our appointment, he called and said that he had someone to present to us during the appointment!!  We walked with him to the workshop of a less active member who was just starting to return to church and wanted to present his friend to us.  We taught Julio Cesar in his shop and he attended church and accepted a baptismal date!  The Lord truly does trust us and answers our prayers by putting wonderfully prepared people in our paths.  Another man we found with his dog and I asked if he likes to read.  It was funny because he didn’t understand me, but Hermana Salguero saved it by repeating it.  In talking with him, we learned that he had talked with missionaries before but they never came back to visit him.  We set an appointment with him, in which we taught lesson 1 to him and his daughter and invited him to church.  We thought that he wasn’t going to come, but he walked in right after the Sacrament and stayed for the rest of the time.  I know that the Lord has worked with us this week and helped me to be brave in contacting.  What a blessing to serve Him every day.

Glory to God in the highest and on Earth, peace good will towards men.

Amor para siempre, Hermana Baldridge

P.S. I accidentally called a Seventy…whoops!  I was trying to call the family Villar to see if we could visit them.  But, in the cell phone there are a lot of contacts with the last name Villar.  I picked one randomly and the man on the other end said, sorry we’re in Iquitos (which is where his son, the Seventy, lives).  I kind of freaked out and said sorry and hung up.  The best part is that they came to our ward on Sunday and he remembered!  He asked, “Now which one of you called me?”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

