Semana 11

April 3, 2017  12:52 p.m. Comas Lima Peru

Semana 11

My Dear Family,

Today, Hermana Meza completes 17 meses in the mission!  (She gets to stay 20 days past 18 months.)  Cambios (transfers) are on April 11th.   We´re pretty sure that we´ll stay here and together, but won´t know until the night before.  Pretty crazy!  I realize now, more than ever, how hard it is to get along with another person.  I´ve been blessed with a gift to love people fast, but not with the gift to love people deeply very fast (that requires vulnerability, humility, and other things that don´t come easy to me).  However, I have a testimony of Moroni 7:48.  I prayed with all the energy of my heart this morning, and after that, I felt an incredible love for Hermana Meza.  I know that prayer and reading the Libro de Mormon are the keys to resisting temptations (for me: to be proud, selfish, and judge others).  I testify with President Monson that studying the Book of Mormon daily will help us to not doubt and not fear.

I believe that home is not about the place, but about the people.  Since I arrived here in Comas/La Mar, I have struggled to feel at home.  I realized that I will be able to really feel at home when I deeply love Hermana Meza and notice her strengths and serve her every day.  This is what I´m working on right now.

I was able to watch General Conference all four sessions!  …all in Spanish!  Thus, the photo of new vocabulary words and doodles.  But, I was able to understand a lot, as well.  On Saturday, all the missionaries in my zone watched the sessions in the Stake Center and, in between, the stake president treated us to an amazing lunch of pollo a la brasa, ensalada, y papas fritas (grilled chicken, salad, and fries), but the portions are SO LARGE.  On Sunday, we watched the sessions in our ward building.  Unfortunately, Miriam came alone to church (without Randhi and Sofia and Diam) so they will have to be baptized on April 15 (must have 3 asistencias de iglesia antes de bautismo).  Everything happens for a reason, and we still need to teach them the commandments so I think it´s better this way.

I loved Elder Renlund´s talk on compassion.  God´s compassion for my shortcomings, his infinite mercy and forgiveness teaches me humility and love.

I know that the Lord puts people in our path or changes circumstances so that we can witness miracles, WHEN and only when we exercise great faith in Jesus Christ (we have to pray with sincerity, study the scriptures, be cheerful, willing to work, and grateful).

Fotos: scripture I liked this morning, doodles from conferencia general, my breakfast everyday (the liquidy yogurt with cereal in a mug), reunion de las hermanas

(Moroni 7:48  Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen.)

(For a summary of Elder Renlund’s talk, titled “Our Good Shepherd”: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/talk-summaries-saturday-morning?lang=eng)

Leave a Reply

