Semana 8

Semana 8

March 13, 2017 11:57 a.m. Lima Peru

This week was much better in the way of being lonely, crying, adjusting to new things.  I know that the Lord is aware of each of his children wherever they are.

Some facts about my life in Peru that I´ve been asked: To my knowledge our shower does not have warm water ever, but it doesn´t bother me much because it´s so hot and humid.  I got a pretty good sunburn this week, but since then I have been diligent in applying bloqueador when we proselyte before 4 pm. My apartment feels like home now, which is good.  I never use covers on my bed because it´s so hot at night, but we have a fan that makes everything so much better.  It is very dusty and dirty, but the sunsets and colorful houses on the cerros are beautiful.

There have been a few really hard, but important and spirit-filled lessons this week.  Hermano William (the father of a recent convert, Natali) was very against reading the Book of Mormon and attending church.  He said some pretty bad things about members of the church that he had seen and were his perception of Mormons (most of which I couldn´t understand). Hermana Meza started crying and was very honest with him- told him that his heart is very hard and testified that the members of the church and the leaders also are not perfect, but Christ is and his church is.  I felt the Spirit so strong and we both felt a strong love for HNO William despite his words.  He agreed to read the chapter we left with him.  Two days later, we saw Natali at church and asked about her father.  She said that after we left he was crying and later she saw him reading the Book of Mormon.  She also had a dream that he got baptized.  I know that the Spirit is the real teacher and that following Christ is not easy, especially when we have a lot of pride.  I feel such a strong love for HNO William and his family and a fervent hope that he will continue to soften his heart and make these changes in his life and gain a testimony of the Book of Mormon and be baptized, that he may have eternal life with his family.

We got to attend a baptism of a granddaughter of Hermana Luna (the mother of my CCM maestra) who is in our ward.  It was so special to hear the Primary sing “I like to look for rainbows whenever there is rain” in Spanish. I felt so strongly (during the song and confirmation of the gift of the Holy Ghost upon this little girl) that that is why I´m here in Peru – to help people to receive saving ordinances that they can “be the best [they] can and live with God again”.  And, so that they can have the tools to be happy now and forever.

I got to see HNA Luna (see photos) and it felt like seeing my mom, because she was my mom in the CCM (my evening teacher).  Her baby is due in April!  We got to eat lunch with her and her mother and I learned that the investigator she pretended to be in the CCM (Estela) is her sister and her situation is real.  That hit me hard because I remember getting out of one of our first lessons with her and praying fervently while crying that she would accept the gospel and feel God´s peace and love for her.

I know that we can tell the Lord anything and ask him for help. He loves us so much and wants to help us with every problem we face no matter how small.  I have been loving Juan 15:13 and Moroni 7:41 this week.  I have been learning about the Atonement too. I have so much love for all of you.  Your emails lift my heart every week.  THANK YOU!

Love, Hermana Baldridge

Photos this week: some views out our apartment window (we´re on the 4th floor), the seventy that lives in our ward boundaries in an ensign article, granadin (it´s my favorite fruit here! but looks absolutely nasty), Hermana Meza in all her cuteness.

Juan 15:13  “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.”

Moroni 7:41  “And what is it that ye shall hope for?  Behold I say unto you that ye shall have hope through the atonement of Christ and the power of his resurrection, to be raised unto life eternal, and this because of your faith in him according to the promise.”

Leave a Reply

