¡Semana 2!

¡Semana 2!

February 1, 2017  5:03 p.m. Lima, Peru

Hello Family, one and all!

I love the food!  Still pollo y arroz, pero now there are also some really fun desserts (which you know is right up my alley).

There was a tiny earthquake this morning.  I was lying on my bed on the top bunk at 6:40 a.m., after we had put our laundry in and I looked down to see what dance/nightmare my companion was having below me, then realized that she was in the bathroom.  It lasted maybe 4 seconds and only shook the bed a little.  We promptly read the safety precautions sheet to be prepared for more.  So exciting!

We went to Interpol yesterday and got up at 4:20 a.m. to leave at 5.  We got back around 10:30 a.m.  We practiced lots of vocab and flashcards in line.  They checked my teeth and got my hands all inky in the fingerprint line.  I’m glad I was in a group of equally-ignorant Spanish-speaking missionaries.  I think we were there to get our VISAs, but I honestly have no idea.  It’s all in Spanish…

I love it when HNA (Hermana) Wilson starts humming or singing songs that are stuck in her head and I know them (Les Miserables, Into the Woods, Little Shop of Horrors).

One of my photos this week is in front of the temple with a Latina sister.  I met her this morning in the temple and found out that she just returned home from the Brazil Manaus mission yesterday.  I asked if she knew an Elder Baldridge and she said YES!  We were in a big hurry so I can’t remember her name… I think something like HNA Berra…tender mercies every day.

One of the photos is the TIE GUY, as he is famously called.  He´s a member that sells things that he makes right outside of the temple (mostly for missionaries).

The traffic… wow.  The biggest vehicle gets the right-of-way.  Thank goodness I’m not driving the bus.

EFY (Especially for Youth) is happening right now, right next door at a stake building, I think.  We’ve been hearing the “I’ve got the magic in me” song and the “you want my sandwich; you can’t have my sandwich” line dance song.  I never know what that one is called.  So fun.

We sang “Acompañame” (Abide with Me) for the devotional this week.  We started teaching 2 new investigadores, Jaime y Estela.  Tough stuff!  But, great experiences.  We listen to a devotional every Tuesday and Sunday night – most are video recordings from the Provo MTC.  The last two have been Elder Holland.  He said missionary work is not easy because Salvation is not a cheap experience.  (When you are a disciple of Christ, you walk where He walked, you cry the tears He shed.)  (Run until you drop and they carry you home.)  His words hit me with a lot of power and I want to work HARD and be humble and rely on the Holy Ghost when teaching lessons, and always.  We’ve started praying after our lessons to thank God for the gift of tongues.  I know that God wants us to be like the one leper who came back to give thanks.  I know that Jesus Christ is my Savior.  I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me and so can you (Phillippians 4:13).

HNA Baldridge

2 thoughts on “¡Semana 2!

  1. This letter is so great! You make me smile. A lot brand new and a little very familiar (EFY) – funny. Thanks for sharing your experience and your heart. What a great spirit! Be so safe. We love you always, Gma

  2. Hola Hermanita!!! Espero que todo esta bien!! Espero que si!!!
    Sounds like you are doing great! Keep up the good work!
    Love ya, The Masons

Leave a Reply

