Trip to Lima and First Day

Morgan’s trip to Lima

Her itinerary was to fly on Tuesday, January 17th from Sacramento to LAX (at 5:30 a.m.), changing planes with 1.5 hr layover, then fly from LAX to Atlanta, Georgia, changing planes with a 2 hr layover, then fly Atlanta to Lima.  She would go through customs, then drive 2 hrs to the Lima Missionary Training Center (CCM).  Her first leg to LAX went well.  The plane boarded at LAX, but then the pilot was sick.  It was a 4-hr delay with a 747-full-plane of passengers to delay/redirect.  Morgan ended up flying to Atlanta late that day, spending the night alone in an Atlanta hotel and catching the same flight to Lima (a day late), arriving in Lima at midnight on January 19th.  Communication was a bit of a challenge and Morgan borrowed many a cell phone.  We were able to talk with her two times in the hotel.

January 19, 2017 1:55 p.m. (Lima Peru)

I arrived safely in Lima and we went through customs together.  We arrived at 2:30 am this morning and got to sleep a little bit.  I am in the same room as Hermana Bucknum (de Washington) who I flew on the plane with and two Hermana Wilsons (not related, de Texas y Utah).  Everyone at the CCM is very kind and loving and willing to help.  My Spanish morning teacher is very funny and kind (Hermano Meza).  He says something and then we all repeat “¡Si podemos!”  (like Bob the Builder).  I will write again on P Day which is Wednesday.  My brain is already fried with Spanish.  The weather is wonderful but definitely humid.  The food is new but good.  I´m grateful for prayer because no matter how many strangers I´m surrounded by, he knows me and is always there for me to talk to.  I love you!

2 thoughts on “Trip to Lima and First Day

  1. You can already feel her great spirit . I’m so excited for her. Great pictures. She certainly knows where to turn for strength. Jeri Clinger

Leave a Reply

